Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 7th, 2007

Finding a mentor

     I have been listening to some really encouraging motivational speakers.  The best advise i have heard lately is that you need to evaluate the way you spend your time….find the time wasters and cut down on them or eliminate them so that you can fill your writing time with things of value.  Another great tip is to find a mentor in your life that can give you encouragement and advice. 

     I think i will make it my mission to look for mentors in several areas of my life.  I need to counteract the negativity that naturally runs through my mind that prevents  me from achieving success.  I know i do this often.   I often think i can do something…think i am filled with focus .  Then i discourage myself sometimes even after the fact of doing the very thing i began to seek.  I have set myself on a journey which starts positively and ends with self discouragement.  In stead of : I can’t do that… to Why cant I do that? To finally:  I Can Do That…I Know I Can!!!

      I am going to work on rewriting the thoughts in my head to ones that promote positivity, purpose, achievement and daring.  Oh boy, this is definately the key.  I will write and let it flow .  Lord knows, rewriting is something that we do continuously anyway so why not just do it.  Get it out there in some form and then work on perfecting afterwards. 

     I am not going to compare myself to those prolific —financially stable authors who seem to be held up in the media as some kind of end goal.  I am going to work on being the best writer that i can be.  Now, how do i go about finding a writing mentor?   Hmmm…time for some intensive reflection here!

Read Full Post »